Meathead Hat

This Loopy Guy has taken quite a hiatus from this blog, but also from knitting in general since March.  February and March found me hot and heavy into knitting hats with Noro Silk Garden yarn.  Absolutely delicious!  Kody May provided all kinds of wonderful hat patterns, most especially the Brother-In-Law Basket-Weave Hat Pattern, the Seed Stitch Hat For My Man Pattern, and the Asminah’s Hat Pattern.

This past weekend, I was perusing my bookshelves at home and ran my thumb across the book Knitalong by Larissa Brown and Martin John Brown.  The hyperlink will take you to the blog they maintain.  As I flipped through the pages of the book, I landed on the pattern for the Meathead Hat.  I cannot explain how the whimsy of the hat shape captured my imagination, but it sure did.  Enough so that I went out and bought size 15 straight needles and some bulky yarn.  Even though I’ve not ventured into this aspect of knitting, the opportunities for embellishment of this hat are pretty wide open and seem like fun to create. (Just go to Flickr, type Meathead Hat into the search field, and see for yourself!) Who knows?  Perhaps my family will end up with personalized meathead hats for Christmas this year.

Once I get my prototype knitted up, I’ll post a picture.  Until then, time for me to get loopy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

